The Castleton Historical Society’s mission is to discover, preserve and disseminate knowledge about the history of Castleton and the State of Vermont.
The Castleton Historical Society was established in 1947 by a group of citizens concerned with saving one of the town’s oldest buildings, a small brick house at the end of Main Street, built in the 1790’s and called The Cobbler’s Shop. This accomplished, the Society flourished through the years and continues to play a dynamic role in the community. In 1991 the Society acquired the Higley House, formerly a private home built in 1811. The house is used as a home for the Historical Society as well as a house museum open to the public.
Hours of Operation
The Castleton Historical Society’s offices are located in the Higley House Museum. The Higley House Museum is not open on a regular basis in the winter months, but special visits or group tours can be scheduled in the off season. Please contact us to make arrangements.
We are open seasonally from Memorial day weekend through Labor Day weekend.
- Buel Block is open to the public, Saturday's 9:30-10:30 AM (556 Main Street).
- Higley House is open on Saturday's from 10:30-11:30 AM.